

COVID-19 and the Student Recognition Luncheon That Never Was

Description

By Diane Bielanski, May 21, 2020

As the Communications Chair for Altrusa International of Hot Springs Village, AR, Inc., I issued the following press release on May 21. Please share with the students listed and their families if you can. Scroll to the bottom of this post for the photos.

Hats off to the high school scholars of 2020!

PRESS RELEASE

Contact: Diane Bielanski

Communications Chair

Altrusa International of Hot Springs Village, AR, Inc.

(630) 880-3688

dbielanski@sbcglobal.net

COVID-19 and the Student Recognition Luncheon That Never Was

May 21, 2020, Hot Springs Village, Arkansas – To honor high school students from Jessieville, Mountain Pine, Cutter Morning Star and Fountain Lake who had a 4.0 GPA (grade point average) in the Fall semester, Altrusa International of Hot Springs Village annually organizes the 4.0 GPA Student Recognition Luncheon and Scholarship Program at the Governor's Mansion in Little Rock. The

luncheons this spring would have marked the 15th year Altrusa has honored local students in this manner.

Trouble started the week of March 9 when the Governor's Mansion staff contacted Altrusa to notify them that upcoming Spring events had to be cancelled. Not to be deterred from recognizing the 4.0 students, Altrusa contacted entertainer Maxwell Blade, scheduled to be the guest speaker at the Governor's Mansion luncheons, to discuss the possibility of holding the event at his theater in Hot Springs. Before that could be finalized however, quarantine was ordered, and schools cancelled for the remainder of the school year.

There were 47 4.0 students from Jessieville, 13 from Mountain Pine, 21 from Cutter Morning Star and 86 from Fountain Lake – and no way to acknowledge their achievement. Altrusa searched for alternative ways to replace the special luncheon at the Governor's Mansion at a time when everyone is sheltering at home and schools are closed. Ultimately Altrusa made the decision to give the students their certificates of accomplishment through the school counselors. Altrusa also awarded each qualifying Senior a \$500 scholarship and a separate certificate through the counselors.

This year's Seniors receiving scholarships included: Joseph Benson, Jacob Semmler and Jacob Theriot from Jessieville; Matthew Hurst from Mountain Pine; Grace Slick from Cutter Morning Star; and from Fountain Lake the recipients were Isabel Butler, Erin Graves, Sydney Mungle, Marcus Needles, Victoria Pike and Grace Westerman. Each of these seniors maintained a 4.0 GPA for all four years of high school.

Noted Valerie Derryberry, Altrusa organizer of the annual 4.0 GPA Student Recognition Luncheon and Scholarship Program at the Governor's Mansion, "This year certainly didn't go as planned but Altrusa is already planning for the 4.0 luncheons for 2021!

The list of students from the four local schools follows.

About Altrusa – Altrusa International of Hot Springs Village, one of the most active service organizations in the Village, serves as an example of what happens when people are brought together with the goal of creating a better community. Since 2004, the members of Altrusa have engaged in projects large and small — focused on that goal. The service hours the local members spend are just a portion of the more than one million volunteer hours contributed annually by Altrusa members worldwide.

Mountain Pine

9th Grade

Taylor Buttrum Jace Walden

10th Grade

Bayley Brown Kristian Downie

11th Grade

Cressie Long
Mackenzie Shelton

12th Grade

Hayden Barnes
Mei-Ling Godfrey
Sydney Greene
Matthew Hurst
Dylan Munson
Collin Smith
Jamie Walsh

Fountain Lake

9th Grade

Benjamin Allan Beatty Annaclaire Alyse Berry Alexxus Rose Brown **Cora Marie Counts** Sarah Emma Desfassiaux Raul Diaz Dylan Abbigail Dixon **Evan Eric East** Katelynn Leigh Foshee Sean Russell Glenn William Michael Heap Saige Lynette Long Kenlee OLetha Motley Lillian Brook Overacker Raymond Wyatt Peters Karlie Grayce Thew Erika Ray Wasson Tristan Clint Wendel Samantha Darlene Wittman



10th Grade

Preston Phoenix Bellomy Todd Layne Breedlove Ava Riley Compton Marie Angela Coriaty Renee Simone Costello Hailey Marie Crowder **Bailey Nicole Davis** Griselda Esmerelda Espinoza Emily Makayla Gaona Starla Dawn Landrum Hensley Bailey Diann Knappier Michael Edward Moore Gavin Nobles Nguyen Kyra Mai Nobles Nathan Lee Robinson default watermark Pauline Celia Rocha Sophie Abagail Skinner Cimberli Paige Stillian

11th Grade

Kristen Taylor Baker Carena Grace Bledsoe Jordyn Taylor Bolt Caleb Shawn Brooks Harrison Bryce Brownlee Landry Elizabeth Cate **Leonel Diaz** William Christopher Drakes Haley Rae Danielle Evans Joseph Jefferson Florini Sandor Granger Hampo Aleksandr Michael Johnson Elizabeth Dezarae Leach Lizbeth Lopez **Gracie Marie Peters** Siera Lynn Peters Garrison Matthew Scully **Brooke Elaine Wyatt**

12th Grade

Ryan Johnnie Avila

Daeton Christopher Bassett

Christopher Lynn Burton

Isabel Marie Butler

Mollie Kathryn Davis

Lynley Addison Dean

Christopher Ricardo Desfassiaux

Duleigh Blane Driggers

Kamden Raye Garrett

Erin Elisabeth Graves

Jesse-Joshua Matthew Hoffman

Savannah Nicole Iglehart

Amy Lauren James

Zoe Alexious Lockridge

Colton Cade McMullin

Sydney Claire Mungle

Marcus Ian Ranola Needles

Jordan Santelle Newton

Andrew Dalton Overton

Jake Britton Turner
Zion Bobby Loyd Van Dusen
Rodrigo Vasquez
Emily Belle Walker
Zoie Lynn 14

Zoie Lynn Walker

Annie Grace Westerman

Breann Camille Williams

Madison Ashley Wood

Jessieville High School

9th Grade

Megan Brown

Skyler Clayton

Elizabeth Cosby

Luxi Denger

Jubilee Forbess

Danielle George

Danielle Glomski

Abigail Meredith

Kinleigh Miller

Yan Ouyang

Madison Saunders

Zackery Speers Robert Tatum John Canaan Taylor Ava Zetts

10th Grade

Harli Bassett
Ben Combs
Rebekah George
William Ramsey
Annabel Robertson
Samantha Robertson
Benjamin Romero
Alia Savall
Alyssa Stultz
Lawson Wideman
Audra Wilson

11th Grade

Charlie Davis
Ramon Gonzalez Ariza
Uxia Hermida Balseiro
Joshua McEarl
Autumn McGrady
Taylor Miller
Kaylee Mitchell
Derek Oseguera
Callie Pedersen
Laura Rivera
Jacob Sanders
Kelsey Saveall
Alysan Speers
Abigail Storment

12th Grade

Joseph Benson Marissa Henry Elleigh Lowery Jillian Robertson Briahna Rone Jacob Semmler default watermark

Jacob Theriot

Cutter Morning Star

9th Grade

Jaley Anderson Jacob Barrett Tryntee Case Riley Harvey Autumn Herro

10th Grade

Lindsey King Maraelynn Nuckolls Ethan Stevens

11th Grade

JD Bellomy Hadley Bennett Jordan Foshee James Gill Brecken Knott-DeBord

12th Grade

Madison Bellomy CJ Burks Brock Duncan Scottie Harkness Colby Heaton Hannah Shacklett Grace Slick Liberty Voydetich



The photos included are from the Altrusa HSV archives. The first (cover photo at top) photo is of Arkansas Governor Asa Hutchinson and Arkansas First Lady Susan Hutchinson greeting students at one of last year's luncheons. The second photo includes the 4.0 GPA scholars from Fountain LakeHigh School on April 3, 2019. The third photo includes the 4.0 GPA scholars from Jessieville HighSchool.



4.0 GPA scholars from Fountain Lake High School on April 3, 2019



4.0 GPA scholars from Jessieville High School

Editor's note: Thank you for reading. Click here to go to the home page to bookmark this website so you don't miss any updates.

Click here to visit Hot Springs Village PEOPLE private Facebook Group.

Category

1. HSV News

Tags

- 1. cutter morning star
- 2. hot springs village altrusa
- 3. hot springs village comprehensive master plan
- 4. hot springs village coronavirus
- 5. hot springs village covid-19
- 6. Hot springs village governor Hutchinson
- 7. hot springs village jessieville
- 8. hsv altrusa
- 9. hsv jessieville
- 10. hsv mountain pine

Date Created

05/29/2020 **Author**

lynn

default watermark